Skip to main content

Finding Information

About Grey Literature

Grey literature refers to:

  • Published material not included in the main journal databases such as Medline, Embase and CINAHL. 
  • Material which includes technical reports, official publications, conference papers, statistical information, theses, patents and regulatory or legislative documentation. 
  • Documents produced by a wide variety of official agencies, by academic, government and professional organisations and major bodies such as the EU and the WHO.

Major resources for grey literature include Google Scholar and Open Grey but there are many more, depending on what you are looking for. Below we point to resources for types of information not well covered by our major databases.

Directory of Irish Resources

Finding information on Irish healthcare topics can be challenging as there are a limited number of Irish published sources. Information may be widely scattered across a range of agencies, academic centres, clinical bodies, official and voluntary agencies. Formats may include reports, book chapters, official publications, EU documentation, theses and documents resident on any number of websites. No one index or search engine is likely to discover all relevant information.     

National Library of Ireland

 Trinity College Dublin
 University College Dublin  University College Cork
 NUI Galway  Maynooth University
 University of Limerick  Dublin City University


RCSI Repository - open access to RCSI research papers and other scholarly output

Lenus - Health Services Executive repository of Irish healthcare reports, research and publications

RIAN - research publications of Irish universities and Institutes of Technology

Oireachtas Online Library - research and legislative documents of the Irish parliament. 

Department of Health  - publications

HRB Open Research - Outputs of Health Research Board funded research. 

Statistics and Global Health

Health & Statistics

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US) 
Europa European Union information portal Statistics documents  Public Health documents
Eurostat - EU statistics portal
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development  OECD Health statistics publications
OECD iLibrary - statistics and data library 

United Nations  
UNICEF

World Health Organization 
WHO Global Health Library - search across global and regional indexes
WHO World Health Report 
WHO Global Health Observatory - epidemiology and statistics 
WHO Link country statistics
WHO Library Database - indexes WHO's journals, technical reports, governmental and non-governmental health agency material

Public Health area at the Martindale Center
NICE (NHS) - Public Health 

Global Health Toolkit from the Health Sciences Library, University of Washington

Subject Specific

POPLINE - publications and resources relating to family planning and reproductive health 
HIVinfo - information, guidelines, clinical trials on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention and research from the US National Institutes of Health
Social Care Online - for social work and social care. Research briefings, legislation, reports, government documents and more from the UK's Social Care Institute for Excellence

Open Access Repositories and eTheses

OpenDOAR -Repositories worldwide

NDLDT - Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations

DART-Europe - E-Thesis Portal

US National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology

Healthcare Ethics and Law

Websites of Irish healthcare agencies and official bodies
It is important to identify relevant Irish agencies and search their websites individually as much of their content may not be indexed by general search engines. See the Directory of Irish Resources

Gateways 
MedlinePlus for ethical and legal issues
Globalethicsnet major online resource (free registration) 
Bioethics resources at the NIH (National Institutes of Health, US) 
Bioethics resources from the National Human Genome Research Institute
Resources from the Department of Bioethics, NIH 

Legal 
Search cases, legislation and legal periodicals at these sites: 

Westlaw IE Irish legal materials such as case reports, case digests, legal journals and unreported judgements from 1976 to present.
British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILLI) - British and Irish case law and legislation, EU case law, Law Commission reports and more

Irish Legal Information Initiative (IRLII)- run by UCC Law Faculty to complement its contribution to BAILLI
Irish Law - from UCC Law Faculty, guides to Irish law
Lawlinks University of Kent

Drug Information and Regulation

European Medicines Agency
Health Products Regulatory Authority - regulates medicinal products in Ireland 
Medicines.ie - from Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association 
Extemp.ie - online information for pharmacy professionals
NMIC - the National Medical Information Centre, St James's Hospital Dublin
Poisons Information Centre of Ireland 

NICE Medicines Information - UK NHS 
eMC  Electronic Medicines Compendium and Medicine Guides UK 
UKMi UK Medicines Information Group - UK NHS pharmacy service 
   
RxList - from WebMD