Skip to Main Content

Grey Literature

International Repositories

International Repositories

  • CORE - Open access content distributed across different systems such as repositories and open access journals.
  • DART-Europe - E-Thesis Portal. A partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses.
  • European Commission Public Health Portal - contains links to various EU agencies and programmes.
  • GreyNet International - A Selection of Web-based Resources in Grey Literature. Provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and in so doing profiles organizations responsible for its production and / or processing.
  • Health Services & Sciences Research Resources (HSRR) - Resource archived as of September 2021. 
  • NDLDT - The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
  • OpenDOAR - global Directory of Open Access Repositories. This is a directory of document repositories worldwide. It can identify the repository of a particular institution, those in a particular location or those holding content on a particular subject. However the engine does not search inside the repositories, each site must to be visited separately to conduct individual searches.
  • OpenGrey RepositorySystem for Information on Grey Literature in Europe. This was once one of the primary sources for grey literature but has been discontinued as of 2020 and now exists only as an archived file.
  • Prospero - an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome
  • Science.gov - searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
  • UK NHS - Evidence Search - National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Includes practice guidelines, health assessments and policy documents from agencies worldwide. 
  • US National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology - (NICHSR)
  • US National Technical Information Service - provides access to the results of both US and non-US government-sponsored research and can provide the full text of the technical report for most of the results retrieved.

Clinical Guidelines

Clinical Guidelines

Alternatively, if you know the name of a guideline or organisation that publishes guidelines on a particular specialty, you can search for the guideline or organisation in Google

Clinical Trial Registers

Clinical Trial Registers

Conference Proceedings

Conference Proceedings

Many conference proceedings are available through particular academic databases such as 

Select Conference or Conference Proceedings as content type or use the relevant filter, if available.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses

  • Base Bielfield - Academic Search Engine. Under the 'Document Type' field, there is the ability to confine your search to 'Thesis'.
  • DART-Europe - E-Thesis Portal. A partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses.
  • EThOS - Over 500,000 theses from UK institutions.
  • NDLDT - The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

Grey Literature Guidance

Grey Literature Guidance

  • GreySource - provides links to self-described sources of grey literature. Only web-based resources that explicitly refer to the term grey literature (or its equivalent in any language) are listed. 
  • GreyNet International - A selection of web based resources in Grey Literature. Also contains the OpenGrey Repository.
  • Grey Literature Report - a publication produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.

Health and Statistics

Health and Statistics

Medical Associations and Organisations Worldwide

Medical Associations and Organisations Worldwide

Preprints

Preprints

Research papers that appear prior to the completion of full peer review. They are not as extensively validated as peer reviewed publications and so their data or findings should not be used to inform clinical practice. However, the research they contain will be of interest to those seeking the latest or emerging research in their field. Preprints have proven to be very significant in the early dissemination of Covid-19 related work. Preprints are published on:

Preprint Servers, such as those which appear below. 

  • MedRxiv - Preprint server for Health Sciences
  • BioRxiv - Preprint server for Biology
  • ArXiv - Preprint server for the Sciences, including physics, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics and economics.
  • SSRN - preprints papers dedicated to Social Sciences. Since being acquired by Elsevier, it is claimed that the SSRN preprints are included in the SCOPUS database.

PMC (PubMed Central) has since June 2020 been making certain Preprints openly available on their database. 

Europe PMC - Searches across all these preprint sources, as well as other Open Access content, can be made on Europe PMC.

Search Engines

Search Engines

  • BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) - BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic open access web resources and contains European research resources indexed by Bielefeld University. This is a large powerful search engine and its ‘Advanced Search ’ functionality enable results to be filtered by document type (‘report’ or ‘manuscript’ or ‘review’ or ‘thesis’).    
  • Google Scholar -  Google Scholar can be useful search tools when looking for grey literature. The results returned will not necessarily be grey literature as they search across many academic papers as well.
  • MedNar - Mednar is a health sciences oriented deep web search engine produced by the University of Southern California. MedNar searches openly available medical and health resources that generally cannot be found through a typical Google search; results include grey literature.
  • TRIP - an established database indexing many non-standard types of content. 

Subject Specific

Subject Specific

  • POPLINE - publications and resources relating to family planning and reproductive health 
  • AIDSinfo - information, guidelines, clinical trials on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention and research from the US National Institutes of Health.
  • Social Care Online - for social work and social care. Research briefings, legislation, reports, government documents and more from the UK's Social Care Institute for Excellence