Skip to main content

Library Services 2020/2021

Latest Updates

Saturday 24th April - Changes to Study Space Access

From Saturday 24 April students in Foundation Year, Medicine Years 1-5, Pharmacy Years 1-5, Physiotherapy Years 1-3, GEM 1& 2, PA and MSSP will be allowed to book study spaces between 7am-10pm Monday-Sunday. Changes will be made to the online booking system over the course of Friday 23 April, to support the transition from the published study schedules to broader access. By 6pm Friday 23 April 2021, the system will be updated to reflect the booking parameters for the period 24-30 April 2021. Further changes will be made in the system next week to reflect the booking parameters for the 1 May onwards. For Learning Communities that have timetabled access Saturday 24 April, the booking parameters will be extended to cover 7am-10pm.

Study spaces must be pre-booked using booking.library.rcsi.ie If you have any questions please email library@rcsi.com

RCSI Library Services – Easter 2021

The Library virtual information desk will close at 1pm Thursday 1st April and will re-open at 9am Wednesday 7th April 2021. Emails received over the Easter closure will be responded to over the course of Wednesday 7th April. 

Access to study spaces remain open as per the study schedules. Easter Study Schedules are published here for learning communities with scheduled study access to RCSI Library York Street and Ardilaun Block B.

Click and Deliver and Scan & Send will be unavailable while the Library virtual information desk is closed. Requests received by 10am Thursday 1st April will be processed.  Requests received after this time will be processed on Wednesday 7th April.

 

Semester 2 Click & Deliver, Scan & Send Arrangements

During Level 5 restrictions the Click & Deliver and Scan & Send  services are available to all students and staff. Click & Deliver services allow you to place online requests for print books held in RCSI Library, York Street and the library team will arrange for the materials to be posted to you. This is a free service. We are unable to fulfill requests for materials from the RCSI Library, BH Collection during Level 5 restrictions. Requests for materials held in RCSI Library, York Street will be processed.

 

Welcome

The safety and wellbeing of students and staff underpins library service plans for the 2020/21 academic year. For returning students you will notice changes both to how we deliver services and to the physical study environments as we implement the necessary physical distancing measures.  
One of the big changes for the Library service this year is that there is no drop-in access to library spaces in York Street and Beaumont. Working closely with colleagues across the university, learning communities will have scheduled access to study spaces in the library and Ardilaun Block B (read more).

 

Overview of 2020/2021 Services

  • The Virtual Information Desk is available to support you with general queries relating to library services and in-depth support.  Please use LibChat to chat online with us or email more in-depth queries to library@rcsi.com. Connect with us via Twitter, Facebook
  • To support your online learning, the Library has created new resources for the Library on Moodle and LibGuides to help you develop your skills and techniques searching for and using information.  1-1 Research Consultations are available by appointment, please use the online booking form.
  • The Library BiteSize sessions will be delivered online this year.  The sessions provide you with an opportunity to learn how to effectively search and use information.  Topics include Library Essentials, How to Reference, Using Endnote, How to search for books/ebooks and Searching Healthcare Databases (CINAHL, Clinical Summaries, PubMed). Previous recorded Library BiteSize Sessions can be found on our Presentation 2020/2021 LibGuide
  • The online library is available 24/7 providing you with access to a wide range of databases, e-journals and e-books.  For 2020/21 we are aiming to provide reading list materials online when we can. Some tips for using the online library:
    • Use the links in the A-Z Resources to connect to databases, clinical summary tools and ejournal collections
    • Use the Journal Search to locate specific journals.  Search by journal title keyword.  The portal provides a link to the journal and also indicates what years online access is available for.
    • Use BrowZine to explore our online journals collection by topic.  BrowZine allows you to create a personal bookshelf and to save favourite articles.  Find out more about BrowZine, including the phone app version, on the Library Blog.
    • Use Primo VE Search to look up books available online. 
  • If you need access to materials in our print collections please use our new Click & Collect, Click & Deliver and Scan & Deliver services.
  • Access to the Heritage Collections online catalogue is available here. Please forward all queries to archivist@rcsi.com. This email account is monitored 9am-5pm, Monday to Friday except for bank holidays.

    • The Heritage Collections reading room, Mercer Building is currently closed until further notice.

  • The SCONUL and ALCID reciprocal library access schemes are suspended for 2020/21.  We cannot provide letters for introduction, SCONUL access letters or ALCID cards to RCSI members.  We are unable to host visitors from other institutions participating in these schemes.