Skip to main content

Library Services 2020/2021

Click and Collect

Click & Collect services allow you to place online requests for print books held in RCSI Library York Street and Beaumont Hospital for collection.

Click and Collect Form

Who can use the Click and Collect service?

The service is available to all students who are members of a Learning Community with scheduled access to either library space in York Street or Beaumont Hospital.  This includes students assigned to learning communities for:

  • GEM1
  • Foundation Year
  • Direct Entry Medicine
  • Pharmacy Years 1, 2 & 3
  • Physiotherapy Years 1, 2 & 3
  • MSSP
  • Medicine Year 5 (SC2)

and RCSI staff and postgraduate research students scheduled for onsite attendance on the main campus and Beaumont campus.

What can be requested?

All items which can currently be borrowed from the RCSI Library York Street and Beaumont Hospital collections can be requested via Click & Collect. Store and Heritage Collection items cannot be requested via these services. 

Before you submit a request

Please check the RCSI Library catalogue to see if the books of interest are available in the library or online. Please note the book title and author as you will need this information to complete the submission form.

How many requests can I submit?

Usual borrowing rules apply to requests.  You can make requests up to the number of books you are allowed to borrow.  

How long will it take to fulfill my request?

We aim to fulfil your request as soon as possible but delays may occur due to high demand, waiting for items to be returned from other users, the need to quarantine returned books.  For the Click & Deliver service An Post Express Parcel delivery will be used to ensure items get to you as soon as possible. 

How will I know my requests are ready for collection?

When your requests are ready for collection the library team will send you an email indicating your book is now ready for collection.  Due to University regulations you are only allowed to collect the book during your allocated Library time.  Please check this LibGuide for your Learning Communities allocated Library Time. 

The items will be stored in a bag with your student ID number listed on the outside of it.  Please ensure you adhere to social distancing guidelines (wear your face mask, observe 2 metre distancing) when collection your items.
 

How long will books be held for me?

We appreciate the complexity of student schedules onsite this year.  We aim to ensure your collection window falls on a day you are due to attend on site for teaching or study space use.  If you fail to collect on that date, the items will be returned.  If you are unable to attend site please contact us at library@rcsi.com to make alternative arrangements, we will try to accommodate changes as much as reasonably possible.

How can I return books?

On the days you are scheduled for onsite access please use the book return bins available on site:

  • RCSI Library, York Street – Book Return Bin, Level 1
  • RCSI Library, Beaumont Hospital – the book return bin is located on the entrance level, adjacent to the print collections.

Returned books will be quarantined for 7 days.