Skip to main content

Document Supply

Document Supply

If we don't stock a journal, book or theses, we offer a fee based library document supply service. On receipt of your completed application form(s) we will attempt to source from another library.

To use the Document Supply Service
Please complete an online form for each item you wish to request. Your application will be reviewed and prior to placing the order we will advise you of costs.

This service is available to registered RCSI staff and students and Beaumont Hospital staff and students registered with RCSI Library

Email docsupply@rcsi.ie or phone 402 2407 26 York Street or 809 2531 RCSI Library, Beaumont Hospital

Before Requesting a Document, Book or Theses

This service is only available to registered RCSI staff and students and Beaumont Hospital staff and students registered with RCSI Library.

Please complete an online form for each item you wish to request. Your application will be reviewed and prior to placing the order we will advise of costs.

Articles: On average there is a fee of up to €15.00 per article requested through document supply. Based on where we can source the item from some articles may cost more. We will inform you of the costs before requesting from our document supplier.

Book/Theses Loans: On average there is a fee of up to €25.00 per item requested through document supply.  Based on where we can source the item from some items may cost more. We will inform you of the costs before requesting from our document supplier.

Lost or damaged books: €250.00 minimum charge

Before requesting a journal article, please check the following sites to source Full Text/PDFs

 

RCSI e-journal Portal (only available to registered RCSI Network Account holders)

RCSI Repository

LENUS  Health Services Executive repository of Irish healthcare reports, research and publications

PubMed

OpenDoar a collection of academic repositories or RIAN, a similar collection from Irish Institutions. 

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources.

Copy and paste the title of the article into google.com or Google Scholar

Ask the Author: There is usually a correspondence author listed on the paper you require.

ResearchGate: Download or Request Full Text from the author.  You will need to register with ResearchGate before requesting an article. Registration is free.

Publisher Websites: Most journal publishers provide pay-per-view access to individual articles. Costs vary according to publisher and payment is usually by credit card via the journal website.

For older journal titles not available electronically search the RCSI Library Catalogue

Search the RCSI Library Catalogue

Other Academic or Public Libraries: Check their library catalogues to make sure they have the title required and that it is available to consult in their library. 

JISC database of 144 UK and Irish Academic, National & Specialist library catalogues.

Further information or to apply for a Letter of Introduction, please ask at the Information Point (York Street), Service Desk (Beaumont Hospital Library) or email library@rcsi.ie or  bhlibrary@rcsi.ie 

 

Other Academic or Public Libraries: Check their library catalogues to make sure they have the title required and that it is available to consult in their library. 

National Library of Ireland

 Trinity College Dublin

University College Dublin

 University College Cork

NUI Galway

 NUI Maynooth

University of Limerick

 Dublin City University

 

Search the RCSI Library Catalogue

Check the institution catalogue or repository the theses was published in. 

OpenDoar a collection of academic repositories or RIAN, a similar collection from Irish Institutions

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

NDLTD Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

 

Please see our LibGuide on Grey Literature for material not included in the main journal databases such as Medline, Embase and CINAHL. 

 

RCSI Staff & Students can visit other academic libraries on production of a letter of introduction, ALCID card or SCONUL card.  

  • Letters of introduction: if you wish to consult an item held in another library, which is not held in RCSI Library, we can provide you with a letter of introduction, which must clearly indicate the item you wish to consult.  Access is granted by the other library so you must check if they have any access restrictions in place prior to visiting in person.
  • ALCID is a co-operative access scheme among the major Irish research libraries enabling card-holders to access the participating libraries.  Full time RCSI academic staff and students registered for higher degrees (Masters, PhD) are eligible to apply for an ALCID card.  When visiting other libraries participating in the scheme you must present your RCSI ID card and ALCID card.   Access is at the discretion of the library you wish to visit so you should check their visitor guidelines prior to visiting in person.
  • SCONUL is a co-operative access scheme among Irish and UK universities enabling card-holders to access the participating libraries. Full time RCSI academic staff and research posgraduate students are eligible to apply.  To apply please complete the online form.  Further information is available in the SCONUL Access User Guide.