Skip to main content

Donations

Guidance on donating materials to RCSI Library

RCSI Library Donations Policy

The Library welcomes donations of books relating to medicine and surgery, published after 1850. Books, records or personal papers with an Irish medical interest are acceptable regardless of date.  The Library reserves the right to retain or dispose of donations as it deems appropriate in the light of processing and retention costs. Donations of print journals may occasionally be accommodated but in the context of maximizing electronic access, alternatives in the form of subventing a subscription are preferred.

 

If you wish to discuss a larger donation to the RCSI Library Collections please email the Content and Metadata Management Librarian Eliška Komárková

Appendix C GUIDELINES FOR DONATIONS, BEQUESTS AND GIFTS    

RCSI Library has in the past been enhanced by bequests of collections of books, private papers and memorabilia. Such gifts, as well as financial donations to support the purchase, storage, cataloguing or conservation of the collections, are most welcome.

We may accept, subject to certain conditions, books, records or personal papers with an Irish medical interest as well as books on medicine and surgery published before 1850. We may not accept material in poor condition or that might require further conservation costs.

All donated material becomes the property of RCSI

  1. RCSI Library reserves the right to retain or dispose of donated material in accordance with our collection development policy.
  2. Donated material in poor condition, duplicates or material outside the scope of our collection development policy is subject to disposal, and, where appropriate, recycling.
  3. The cataloguing of donated material is only as resources permit

RCSI Library provides a form of agreement for donors to sign which can be requested at the Information Point in 26 York Street. 

RCSI Heritage Collections Donations

Our collections are continuously growing through the generous donations of alumni and other private donors. We are dedicated to enhancing our collections as a valuable resource for the teaching, research and practice of medicine and surgery in Ireland.

The collecting interests of RCSI Heritage Collections are outlined in our Collections Development Guidelines and conditions of donations are available in our Donations Policy below.

If you are interested in donating to RCSI Heritage Collections or would like to discuss any aspect of our donations policy, please feel free to contact us.