Explore RCSI Library Collections

RCSI has a rich tradition of scholarship and innovation; books authored by its staff and Fellows form an important part of this tradition.

The RCSI Authors Collection consists of books which have been authored, edited by or include contributions from current and past RCSI staff, Fellows & Licentiates. The collection brings together a snapshot of this diverse scholarly output, including book titles representing various health sciences and surgical specialties.  These books educate, inform, and contribute to discussions around human health.

RCSI Authors Collection Exhibition Book Case

A bespoke bookcase highlighting items from the RCSI Authors collection is housed in 123 St. Stephen’s Green

To view the RCSI Authors bookcase, enter the 123 St. Stephen's Green building via its York Street entrance.

You will see the Porter's Welcome Desk to the right, where visitors check in.

Turn to the left and see the bookcase located between the door to the O'Flanagan Theatre and the staircase to the 1784 Restaurant & Remedy Cafe.

• Visit 123 St. Stephen's Green

The RCSI main campus building has impressive views, life-sized marble statues and paintings by famous artists, including William Orpen. A truly impressive heritage landmark of Dublin.

Find RCSI Authors Collection Titles in the RCSI Library Collections. 

RCSI Authors Collection listed on Primo VE

How to Search Primo VE

You can access Primo VE through this link or via RCSI Library Website 

Type RCSI Authors into the main search box. As you do so, you will notice that the option appears in a dropdown menu for you to limit your search to Books & Ebooks, allowing you to target your searches to retrieve these items only.

The RCSI Authors collection consists of books which have been authored, edited by or include contributions from current and past RCSI staff, Fellows & Licentiates.

Authors can suggest their published work is added to the collection by emailing ejournals@rcsi.ie or by completing a Recommend a Resource Form.  

Donations are also gratefully accepted subject to their meeting the below criteria:

• Donated books must include a contribution from a current or former RCSI Staff Member, a Fellow or Licentiate of the College 
• Donated books must be in excellent condition
• All donated books will become the property of RCSI 
• Items not required by RCSI Library, for example, additional copies of books already held in the collection, will not be added to the collection

To discuss donations, please contact the Content & Metadata Management Collections Team at ejournals@rcsi.ie   

Please refer to the policy document and print out the agreement form, below: