Skip to Main Content

Explore RCSI Library Collections

Guide on RCSI Library contemporary collections

Print Collections

RCSI Library holds a collection of roughly 15,000 contemporary print books across two locations (26 York Street and Beaumont Hospital). 

Please see below some of our distinct collections:

Wellbeing Collection

RCSI Authors Collection

Health Care Ethics and Law

USMLE Resources

RCSI Library currently subscribes to a small number of print journals. 

These could be either consulted in 26 York Street and Beaumont Hospital Library and in our storage located in RCSI Heritage Collections. 

Please see the listing below: 

26 York Street

  • British Medical Journal. 3 months held at York Street, then relocated to Heritage Collections
  • Irish Medical News. 3 months retained.
  • Irish Medical Times. 3 months retained.
  • The Medical s. 3 months retained.
  • New Scientist. 12 months retained.
  • Scientific American. 12 months retained.
  • MIMS. Only current month retained.

Compactus (arrange a consultation via RCSI Heritage Collections)

  • Annals of Surgery
  • British Journal of Surgery (BJS)
  • Irish Journal of Medical Science
  • Irish Medical Journal
  • JAMA Surgery
  • Journal Of Medical Ethics
  • Journal of Pediatric Surgery
  • Journal of the American College of Surgeons
  • Journal of Thoracic and cardiovascular surgery
  • Medico-Legal Journal of Ireland
  • The Lancet
  • Surgery
  • The Surgeon

How to access a book or ebook

To search for a Book or eBook in the Primo VE discovery platform, you should type the title, author or other keyword associated with the book into the main search box. As you do so, the option appears in a dropdown menu for you to limit your search to Books & eBooks, allowing you to target your searches to retrieve these items only. You can also use the Advanced Search feature or the facets feature to further target your searches by adding additional specifications to your search criteria.

Primo VE will display the book's record information to enable you to locate and access it. If it is a physical book, Primo VE will offer details of its location and availability. If the item is an ebook, a link to the online location of the ebook will be provided. You will need to be signed into your Library Card account in order to view details of your borrowing record.