Skip to Main Content
BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Best Practice draws on the latest evidence-based research, guidelines and expert opinion to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. Funded by the HSE National Health Library and Knowledge Service and available within the Republic of Ireland only.
For Edugate access click here. This is a direct link with no additional steps
Cochrane Library
5,000 + full-text reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions. Also includes critical assessments of systematic reviews. Cochrane reviews are updated regularly.
Access Cochrane Library here. This is a direct link with no additional steps.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a dynamic clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s library of medical and surgical content. Includes over 1,000 e-books, 500 e-journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images.
Access ClinicalKey here - this is a direct link with no additional steps. Please use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Ebook Central (Proquest)
Ebook Central provides full text access to eBooks in a variety of subject areas.
For Edugate access click here. This is a direct link with no additional steps.
EMBASE
Biomedical and pharmacological database providing access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects. Includes over 7,000 journals in biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences. Strong coverage of European sources, of drugs and pharmaceuticals. All MEDLINE content is included. EMBASE indexes an additional 1,800 sources not covered by MEDLIN. (IReL Resource)
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
Emerald
Large comprehensive collection of over 200 peer-reviewed journals including healthcare management.
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
LLW Health Library (WK/OVID)
Collection of 40 titles primarily focusing on pharmacy and life sciences. Select Integrated Pharmacy or Premium Basic Sciences Collections.
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
OVID Ebooks & Journals
LWW provides essential information for healthcare students and professionals, in their particular fields of research, be it oncology, internal medicine, radiology or nursing research. (partially IReL & RCSI Resource
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
Click here to access PubMed. This is a direct link with no additional steps
ScienceDirect
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and 145 books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science. ScienceDirect also includes a significant number of Open Access content.
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below:
SCOPUS
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes the full MEDLINE database.
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
Springer
Springer is the world's second largest STM publisher, delivering high quality peer-reviewed journals - Springer publishes more than 1,900 journals online. (IReL Resource)
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
Taylor & Francis
Multidisciplinary resource. Access to the full text of over 1,300 journals published by Taylor and Francis. Includes acces to 159 titles within the T&F Healthcare Collection (formally Informa Healthcare). (IReL Resource)
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a large suite of over 12 databases and citation indexes in the sciences and the social sciences. RCSI Library has access to Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and Essential Science Indicators (ESI) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. (IReL Resource)
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below. Please use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Wiley
This resource provides full text access to over 1,600 journals in business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences published by John Wiley & Sons. (IReL Resource)
For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.
