Beaumont Library

Beaumont library provides assistance with all aspects of literature searching including:

• Guidance on selecting relevant resources
• Mapping your research question into a PICO or other format
• How do do a literature search using keywords, subjects, Boolean operators, limits, filters
• Building a search in a specific database and translating it for other key databases including PubMed and Embase.
• Peer review of search strategies using PRESS checklist
• Writing up your search strategy and PRISMA reporting
• Finding full text using the libkey browser extension (www.libkeynomad.com) and document supply services
• Critical Appraisal tools including recommended CASP Checklists
• Department training sessions on selected resources

Book a 1-1 consultation on Literature Searching by filling in our Clinical Query Service online form, or email us at bhlibrary@rcsi.ie. 

A systematic review requires that you search all relevant sources and databases in a systematic and structured way so that your search strategy is comprehensive, transparent and replicable. 

A literature review is a structured search for, and review of, the published research papers on a given topic. 

A systematic review in the healthcare research context gathers, analyses and appraises the evidence about a clinical question.  Systematic Reviews usually investigate the outcomes of alternative clinical interventions by acquiring and analysing large quantities of data from clinical trials or primary studies and synthesizing the strength of the resultant evidence to make clinical recommendations.

A scoping review examines and summarises the extent of current research on a topic to identify gaps in the literature and determine the value of undertaking a full systematic review.

A meta-analysis is a quantitative summary that combines the results of similar independent studies that are synthesized in a particular systematic review, to provide more precise estimates of the effects of health care treatments or risk factors than those derived from the individual studies included within the systematic review (Zaccagnini, 2023).

Literature Searching for any type of review requires the following steps: 

1. Clarify your research question using a PICO or similar format, and identify the main concepts, keywords and database subject terms for your search.
2. Select relevant resources for your topic including Clinical Decision Support tools, databases such as PubMed/Medline, Embase, Cochrane, Cinahl, PsycInfo, and grey literature sources.
3. Build a search strategy for the databases where you will start by searching for each of your main concepts separately combining keywords, subject terms and synonyms with OR, followed by combining your main concepts with AND, and finally adding Limits/Filters to your search results if required.  This comprehensive, structured, systematic approach helps to indicate which concepts are well researched, to identify gaps in the research literature, and to generate recommendations for practice changes or further research.
4. Save your search either by signing in to a database, or taking a copy of the search history.
5. Write up your Search Strategy to include in your paper.

Zaccagnini M, Li J. How to Conduct a Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis: A Guide for Clinicians. Respir Care. 2023 Sep;68(9):1295-1308.