Skip to Main Content

Finding Information

Welcome

Welcome to RCSI Library's guide to Finding Information

The Library holds a wide range of academic information in a variety of formats. This libguide brings together key resources and support materials for information and literature searching. Use the menu items on the left for help with searching the databases, clinical summaries, journals, books and grey literature sources.  The Recommended Resources section below highlights the key resources for each subject area.  The Guide to Literature Searching outlines step-by-step how to do a literature search and how to write up your search strategy.  The Open Resources section provides resources that do not require a login. 

Recommended Resources

 

  1. PubMed - database listing articles published in medical journals worldwide
  2. Embase - database listing articles published in medical and pharmacy journals
  3. Cochrane - database of systematic reviews and clinical trials
  4. UpToDate / DynaMed - summaries of clinical conditions including diagnosis, treatment, international clinical guidelines
  5. Clinical Key / Access Medicine - collections of e-books and multimedia content

 

  1. Cinahl - database listing articles published in nursing journals
  2. PubMed - database listing articles published in medical journals
  3. PsycInfo - database listing articles published in psychology journals
  4. DynaMed - summaries covering diagnosis, treatment, guidelines and patient information guides on clinical conditions

 

  1. PubMed - database listing articles published in medical journals
  2. Cinahl - database listing articles published in nursing, physiotherapy, and allied health journals
  3. Pedro - database of systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines and clinical trials in physiotherapy
  4. Cochrane - database of systematic reviews in medicine

 

  1. PubMed - database listing articles published in medical journals
  2. Embase - database listing articles published in medical and pharmacy journals
  3. Medicines Complete - collection of resources including Stockleys Drug Interactions, BNF and Palliative Care Formulary
  4. UpToDate / DynaMed- summaries of clinical conditions, includes treatment/management, international guidelines, drug interactions
  5. Cochrane - database of systematic reviews and clinical trials

 

  1. PubMed - database listing articles published in medical journals
  2. Cinahl - database listing articles published in nursing and allied health journals
  3. Health Business Elite - database listing articles published in healthcare management journals
  4. Emerald - database listing articles on leadership and management topics
  5. Business Source Premier - database including academic journals and country profiles
  6. Grey Literature sources including government, department of health and organisational reports