RCSI provides a collection of clinically focused e-resources for Beaumont Hospital staff. This collection includes key databases Embase, Medline/PubMed, Cochrane, Cinahl, and PsycInfo; e-journals; pharmacy e-books; BMJ Best Practice; and DynaMed which provides expert point-of-care clinical summaries and international clinical guidelines. These resources are listed in Beaumont A-Z Resources and require an OpenAthens login. Instructions are provided below to create an OpenAthens login using your Beaumont email address. Please contact us at Beaumont Library Information Desk at bhlibrary@rcsi.ie if you have any queries about OpenAthens or searching the databases. Alternatively, if you have an RCSI Appointment you can use your RCSI network account to access the main A-Z Resources list.
To access the e-resources please login on hselibrary.ie using your OpenAthens login and select the resource you require, or click on the direct links below for resources that do not require a login:
BMJ Best Practice – search by clinical topic for best practice guidance
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) – nursing and allied health database
Cochrane - database of systematic reviews (no login required)
DynaMed – search by topic for expert summaries of clinical conditions including treatment, prevention, international clinical guidelines, and patient information sources
EMBASE (Ovid) – key recommended medicine and pharmacy database that contains Medline plus additional content - see training video below for search tips or book a 1-1 tutorial in the library
ERIC - education database (no login required)
Health Business Elite (Ebsco) – healthcare management database
Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest) – healthcare journal collection
JAMA – full text medical journals from the American Medical Association
Medicines Complete - pharmacy resources including BNF, Stockleys, Palliative Care Formulary
Medline (Ebsco) – medicine database that has the same content as PubMed
Pedro - physiotherapy database (no login required)
PsycINFO (Ebsco) – psychology/psychiatry database
PubMed (NLM) – medicine database, same content as Medline (no login required)
RCNi - full text nursing journals from the Royal College of Nursing
Wiley Online Library - extensive collection of e-journals, e-books and reference works
Clinical Guidelines provide expert guidance on diagnosis, treatment, and prevention in healthcare. In addition to these collections, practitioners should search for guidelines provided by professional organisations within their own clinical specialty.
National Clinical Guidelines Ireland
NICE - guidance from the UK National Institute for Clinical Excellence
SIGN - Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
The Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) - guidelines and their application into practice
Cochrane Collaboration - Cochrane systematic reviews
Campbell Collaboration - Social science research
DynaMed - clinical summaries including international clinical guidelines (RCSI or OpenAthens login required)
To register for an OpenAthens login for Beaumont Library e-resources for hospital staff:
On hselibrary.ie click on Login/Register
Select Register- Section 38/Partners
Select “HSE OpenAthens Account for Section 38 and partner organisations”
Fill in the registration form:
Select Beaumont Hospital for your library service and for your location.
Enter your Beaumont staff email address.
Select the appropriate job role.
Click SUBMIT - you will receive an email confirming your registration.
Your registration email will tell you your new username and contain a link for you to create a new password for your account. Follow the instructions to create a new password.
To login to the resources for Beaumont Hospital staff using your OpenAthens login:
Go to hselibrary.ie and click on Login/Register
Select Login and select OpenAthens Section 38/Partners and use your new login.
If you have any problems registering or logging in please email us at bhlibrary@rcsi.ie
A comprehensive literature search means that you search the key relevant databases such as PubMed/Medline, Cinahl, Embase, Cochrane databases as well as grey literature sources such as Department of Health, HSE, WHO and other reputable international sources.
A systematic review requires that you search the databases in a systematic or structured way so that your search strategy can be easily replicated and reported in a PRISMA chart. We provide an online guide to literature searching and 1-1 tutorials that will be tailored for your specific topic in the hospital setting.
The Finding Information Libguide recommends the best databases for each subject area, and provides a comprehensive step by step guide on how to search each of the key databases. It also recommends relevant grey literature sources, and provides a template for writing up your search strategy for a thesis or journal article.
The library provides 1-1 tutorials and department training sessions on literature searching which can be booked using our Clinical Query Service online form or by contacting us at bhlibrary@rcsi.ie.