Collections Help & Support

Edugate is HEAnet’s federated single sign-on (SSO) service which deals with an average of 40 million authentications every year across the HEAnet network. It is an additional way to access e-resources. While this is not the primary method for access to e-resources through the RCSI library, it is useful to know in case you encounter resources via web searches or in the event RCSI's primary authentication pathway is unavailable.  

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)

References to 2.5 million + articles from over 2,000 journals in behavioural and social sciences.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

BMJ

The BMJ Publishing Group Ltd publishes a wide range of medical journals covering a broad selection of medical specialties. The journals are peer reviewed and have international Editorial Boards to ensure global relevance. (IReL Resource).

For Edugate access, click here and follow the steps below

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice draws on the latest evidence-based research, guidelines and expert opinion to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. Funded by the HSE National Health Library and Knowledge Service and available within the Republic of Ireland only.

For Edugate access click here. This is a direct link with no additional steps

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

BSP includes approximately 2,400 peer-reviewed academic journals, 2,400 market research reports, 1,400 Country profiles and 9,000 case studies. Included subjects are: accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Cochrane Library

5,000 + full-text reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions. Also includes critical assessments of systematic reviews. Cochrane reviews are updated regularly.

Access Cochrane Library here. This is a direct link with no additional steps.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a dynamic clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s library of medical and surgical content. Includes over 1,000 e-books, 500 e-journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images.

Access ClinicalKey here - this is a direct link with no additional steps. Please use Chrome or Firefox browsers.

CINAHL (EBSCO)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides authoritative coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines.

In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

DynaMed (EBSCO)

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Ebook Central (Proquest)

Ebook Central provides full text access to eBooks in a variety of subject areas.

For Edugate access click here. This is a direct link with no additional steps.

EBSCO Ebooks

EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to over 100 eBooks in a variety of subject areas.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

EBSCOHost (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost provides access to several databases in one location, allowing searching across databases simultaneously. Includes access to Business Source Premier, CINAHL, MEDLINE, APA Psychinfo, Health Business Elite, and EBSCO Ebooks Collection.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Embase

Biomedical and pharmacological database providing access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects. Includes over 7,000 journals in biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences. Strong coverage of European sources, of drugs and pharmaceuticals. All MEDLINE content is included. EMBASE indexes an additional 1,800 sources not covered by MEDLIN. (IReL Resource)

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Emerald

Large comprehensive collection of over 200 peer-reviewed journals including healthcare management.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Health Business Ethics

Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

LWW Health Library (WK/OVID)

Collection of 40 titles primarily focusing on pharmacy and life sciences. Select Integrated Pharmacy or Premium Basic Sciences Collections.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Medicines Complete

Provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare references including BNF, BNF for Children, Martindale and more.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)

A comprehensive source for medical and biomedical sciences.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Nature Journals

Springer Nature publishes content across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. (IReL Resource). Content encompasses expert opinion, practical methodology and more high impact research and reviews than any science publisher.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

OVID Ebooks & Journals

LWW provides essential information for healthcare students and professionals, in their particular fields of research, be it oncology, internal medicine, radiology or nursing research. (partially IReL & RCSI Resource

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

Click here to access PubMed. This is a direct link with no additional steps

ScienceDirect

The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and 145 books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science. ScienceDirect also includes a significant number of Open Access content.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below:

SCOPUS

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes the full MEDLINE database.

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Springer

Springer is the world's second largest STM publisher, delivering high quality peer-reviewed journals - Springer publishes more than 1,900 journals online. (IReL Resource)

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Taylor & Francis

Multidisciplinary resource. Access to the full text of over 1,300 journals published by Taylor and Francis. Includes acces to 159 titles within the T&F Healthcare Collection (formally Informa Healthcare). (IReL Resource)

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a large suite of over 12 databases and citation indexes in the sciences and the social sciences. RCSI Library has access to Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and Essential Science Indicators (ESI) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. (IReL Resource)

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below. Please use Chrome or Firefox browsers.

Wiley

This resource provides full text access to over 1,600 journals in business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences published by John Wiley & Sons. (IReL Resource)

For Edugate access click here and follow the steps below.

UpToDate

****PLEASE NOTE- registration and online access to this resource will not be available during any downtime. Users are encouraged to register for a personal account prior to downtime.***

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource at the point of care. Users can register for a personal account which will provide them with access to UpToDate for 90 days including online access to the platform and online and offline access via the UpToDate app. After this period you will need to reverify your affiliation to RCSI either accessing the resources onsite while logged in into your personal account or via A-Z Resources or Primo VE while offsite.

To access your personal account, click here