Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20 for Windows

Adding References from Databases

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find CINAHL Plus with Full Text on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the folder icon beside the papers that you want. (right-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Folder ( towards top right-hand corner of screen)
  • You should see all your selected articles
  • Check any article whose reference you want to send to EndNote
  • Click Export (right-hand side of screen)
  • Ensure that Direct Export in RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Save
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import all references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find CINAHL Plus with Full Text on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, click Share on the right of the results
  • Click on E-mail a link (bottom of the drop down list)
  • Type in your email into the E-mail to: box
  • Ensure that RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Send (it can take several minutes for the e-mail to arrive)
  • ​Click on the link in the email
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Embase on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Export (on the results tab)
  • Ensure that RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Export
  • Click Download
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

 

 

To import all references to EndNote (you can only import 10,000 at a time)

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Embase on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, click Select number of items
    • as you can only import 10,000 at a time you will need to redo this step to import all references
  • Click on Export (on the results tab)
  • Ensure that RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Export
  • Click Download
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Emerald on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, click on the article of the citation you want. (click on the title of the article)
  • Scroll down to Acknowledgements - Citation
  • Click Download as . RIS
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find MEDLINE (Ovid) on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer AND Mortality) to find articles
  • Select the results you want to export (e.g. All), then select Export
  • Select RIS as Format, and Complete Reference as Fields, then click on Export
  • Double-click the downloaded file, and the references will automatically appear in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Select the Citation Tools on the article you want to export
  • Select RIS as Format
  • Double-click the downloaded file, and the references will automatically appear in your EndNote Library

 

 

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find PEDro on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Click on Simple search (top left-hand corner of screen) and enter a search  (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) 
  • When the results are listed, select the records you wish to send to EndNote
  • Click Display Selected Records ( towards top left-hand corner of screen)
  • Select Save results and save to your computer 
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library
  • If this is the first time you have imported references from PEDro you may be asked to select the PEDro Import Filter

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find your article or book using our PrimoVE search platform
  • Open your article or book my clicking on its title
  • Under Send to click EXPORT RIS-ENDNOTE
  • Click Download
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Medline PubMed on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Diabetes) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click Send To (above the search results)
  • Click Citation Manager
  • Click Create file
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Scopus on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Export 
  • Ensure that RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Export
  • Click Download
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

 

 

To import all references to EndNote 

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Scopus on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the All box. 
  • Click on Export 
  • Ensure that RIS Format has been selected
  • Click Export
  • Click Download
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

 

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Web of Science on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Export 
  • Click EndNote Desktop
  • Check the correct amount of results are selected
  • Click Export
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

 

To import all references to EndNote (you can only import 5,000 at a time)

  • Use the Chrome browser on your computer
  • Find Web of Science on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Pressure Ulcer) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Export 
  • Click Fast 5k
  • You will need to sign in to your Web of Science account (or register for an account)
  • Change the File Format to Tab-delimited (Windows)
  • Click Export
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

Adding References from Google Scholar

  • Open Google Scholar and enter a search (e.g. the same migraine prevention search as before)
  • Select the Cite symbol below the reference you wish to export (as in diagram below)
  • Select EndNote as the citation manager
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library
  • If you wish to send more than one reference at a time from Google Scholar, you will need to save them to a list using the star symbol and logging in to a Google account. You can then export the selected list of references.

Inserting a Book Reference

There are several ways to insert a reference for a book into your EndNote library. One simple way is to use an online catalogue, such as JISC Library Hub Discover (this is a combined catalogue of major academic and specialist libraries in the UK and Ireland).

  • Find the JISC catalogue at https://discover.libraryhub.jisc.ac.uk/
  • Search for a book (e.g. type "principles of medical biochemistry" into the TITLE field)
  • Click on your chosen book
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click to Export the selected records to EndNote
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

* you may need to check the record and make some manual adjustments. To do so, right-click on the selected item, and click "Edit Reference". 

e.g. add or delete the number of pages and the Journal title.

Preview in your required style to ensure the reference will display as required.

Creating a Manual Reference

Sometimes, you will have to enter references manually, e.g. when referencing web pages or images. To do this:

  • Select New Reference from the References menu
  • The reference default type is set to Journal Article.
  • Type the details into the relevant fields 
    • If the author is an organisation, add a comma at the end of the name
  • Command + S or File and Save will save the reference
  • Close the reference
  • Check the preview to ensure it is displaying correctly and adjust as necessary

Adding References from Clinical Summaries

To add references from a Clinical Summary (DynaMed or UpToDate) you will have to enter the references manually.

To do this:

  • Select New Reference from the References menu
  • The reference default type is set to Electronic Book Section.
  • Type the details into the relevant fields 
    • enter the title (UpToDate), [updated date, cited date] in the same field, as in the example
 
  • Command + S or File and Save will save the reference
  • Close the reference
  • Check the preview to ensure it is displaying correctly and adjust as necessary

Importing PDFs into an EndNote Library

If you have a folder of references downloaded as PDFs, it is possible to import each of them into your EndNote Library. To do this:

  • EndNote 20 and Select File
  • Select Import and then File
  • Change the Import Option to PDF
  • Choose a PDF as an Import File and Select Import
  • The details of the reference complete with the attached PDF will appear in the Recently Added section of your EndNote Library

EndNote will attempt to source the full details of the reference through cross referencing the doi (digital object identifier) of the article across multiple sources. However, if EndNote is unable to source the details of the articles, you will need to insert this detail manually or export the reference from a database and then attach the PDF.