Grey Literature

Finding information on Irish healthcare topics can be challenging as there are a limited number of Irish published sources. Information may be widely scattered across a range of agencies, academic centres, clinical bodies, official and voluntary agencies. Formats may include reports, book chapters, official publications, theses and documents resident on any number of websites. No one index or search engine is likely to discover all relevant information but the links contained here should be helpful in identifying relevant sources.     

• Central Statistics Office (CSO)- the Government's statistical agency.  
• Citizens Information - the government's public information service 
• Data Gov - open access data on Irish healthcare
• Department of Health - publications, statistics and policies on Irish healthcare service
• The Health Service Executive (HSE) - about the national health services and clinical programmes
• Health Information and Quality Authority - an independent authority that exists to improve health and social care services for the people of Ireland
• Health Research Board (HRB) - publications and data collections on Irish healthcare
• iHealth Facts - a resource to check the reliability and evidence of a health claim.
• Institute of Public Health in Ireland - informs public policy to support healthier populations in Ireland and Northern Ireland.
• Irish Government - gateway to the legislature and executive 
• Irish Statute Book - Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments.
• National Clinical Programmes (HSE) - information from the HSE National Programmes including models of care, pathways and guidelines from a number of clinical topics
• Oireachtas Library and Research Service - Documents Laid and Historical Collections.  Research and legislative documents of the Irish parliament. 

• All Ireland Institute of Hospice and Palliative Care - advances education, research and practice to improve the palliative care experience of people with life limiting conditions and their families
• An Bord Altranais (Nursing Board) - national regulatory agency 
• Cancer Research Ireland - programmes of the Irish Cancer Society 
• College of Anaesthetists  - promotes high quality practice in the fields of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine
• Dementia Services Information and Development Centre -  transforms people’s understanding and awareness of dementia through educational programmes and research
• Dental Health Foundation, Ireland - charitable trust promoting oral health 
• Department of Health - all official services & programmes 
• Department of Health, Social Services & Public Safety, Northern Ireland - its mission is to improve the health and social well-being of the people of Northern Ireland
• Economic and Social Research Institute - public and social research centre 
• Faculty of Radiologists in Ireland  - is the Professional and Academic Body for Radiologists in Ireland
• Food Safety Authority of Ireland - consumer and regulatory agency 
• Health and Safety Authority - national regulatory agency
• Health Complaints - information from the Ombudsman on how to make a complaint or give feedback about health and social care services in Ireland
• Health Information and Quality Authority  - is an independent authority that exists to improve health and social care services for the people of Ireland
• Higher Education Authority - leads the strategic development of the Irish higher education and research system with the objective of creating a coherent system of diverse institutions with distinct missions
• Health Insurance Authority - regulates insurance industry
• Health Literacy Ireland - is one of the country’s leading healthcare companies
• Health Products Regulatory Authority (formerly Irish Medicines Board)
• Health Promotion Unit - strategy and campaign publications 
• Health Protection Surveillance Centre - monitors communicable diseases 
• Health Research Board - national body funding medical research 
• Health Service Executive - executive agency for national and regional sevices 
• Health Services Executive HSE Libraries Online - repository, directory and portal 
• Healthcare Informatics Society of Ireland - builds bridges between computer professionals interested in health care, and health care professionals interested in computing – while supporting and embracing the new professionals of healthcare informatics
• Healthy Ireland -  HSE initiative aiming to create an Irish society where everyone can enjoy physical and mental health, and where wellbeing is valued and supported at every level of society.
• Hospital Pharmacists Association of Ireland - professional representative body 
• Institute of Public Health in Ireland - all Ireland policy and research agency 
• Irish Association for Nurses in Oncology - IANO
• Irish Association for Palliative Care - multidisciplinary promotional body 
• Irish Blood Transfusion Service - national blood agency
• Irish College of General Practitioners  - Postgraduate Training Body for General Practice in Ireland
• Irish College of Ophthalmology  - the recognised training and professional body for medical and surgical eye doctors in Ireland
• Irish College of Psychiatrists  - the professional body for psychiatrists in the Republic of Ireland
• Irish Dental Association - professional representative body 
• Irish Heart Foundation - charitable promotional body 
• Irish Hospice Foundation - works to ensure the best end-of-life and bereavement care
• Irish Institute of Radiography and Radiation Therapy - professional representative body 
• Irish Medical Council - Comhairle na nDochtuiri Leighis -regulatory/registry body 
• Irish Medical Directory - commercial directory 
• Irish Medical Devices Association - trade body 
• Irish Medical Organisation - professional representative body
• Irish Medication Safety Network  - pharmacists supporting patient safety
• Irish Medicines Board, now Health Products Regulatory Authority - regulates medicine products 
• Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation - professional representative body 
• Irish Patients Association - advocacy and advice for patients 
• Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association - industry representative body 
• Irish Pharmacy Union - professional representative body
• Irish Social Science Data Archive ISSDA  -  primary digital collection at UCD
• Irish Society for Quality and Safety in Health Care - database of Irish studies 
• Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists  - professional body representing over 3,000 Chartered Physiotherapists in Ireland
• Irish Society of Occupational Medicine  - professional society in operation since 1979
• Medico Legal Society - professional society
• Mental Health Commission - promotes standards and best practice 
• Mental Health Ireland - support group 
• National Cancer Registry - collects data on cancer in Ireland
• National Cancer Screening Service - prevention, screening, detection, treatment and management of cancer in Ireland
• National Documentation Centre on Drug Use - supports those working to develop the knowledge base around drug, alcohol and tobacco use in  Ireland
• National Drug Treatment Centre - national treatment service
• National Economic and Social Council - review body on social policy issues
• National Office of Clinical Audit  - manages national clinical audits that aim to improve patient care and outcomes
• National Tobacco Control Office - HSE 
• National Treatment Purchase Fund - treatment options for public patients 
• Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland - regulates pharmacists and pharmacies in Ireland
• Poisons Information Centre - advisory and data collection body
• Pre-Hospital Emergency Care Council - is an independent statutory agency with responsibility for standards, education and training in the field of pre-hospital emergency care
• Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland - a forum for the exchange of scientific information that promotes academic discussion
• Royal College of Physicians of Ireland - a postgraduate medical training college
• Science Foundation Ireland - oriented basic and applied research in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics
• UCD National Virus Reference Laboratory - research and monitoring agency